Let Go

006df23ccfdba2df2b8804fa3f272e89
There are times in life when we need to hold so fiercely on to something that air cannot pass between.

Then, there are times when we must be willing to let go of and surrender things that we have held on to for far too long.
Things that keep us from reaching our potential and hinder our relationship with God and others.

In my life, and maybe yours as well, letting go is oftentimes the hardest.
For something to already be in my hands,
it means it is familiar, comfortable, and convenient.
The world we live in today thrives off of these 3 words.
And secretly, so do I.

However, the Gospel can in no way be described by those words.
Radical, foreign, & unnatural would be better adjectives to describe the message Christ died to bring us.

The unfortunate and glorious reality that Christ is revealing to me is that
He can give us nothing when our hands are already full.Β 
When I am clinging to sin with a death grip, or even to good & holy things that He is asking me to surrender, I put myself in limbo.

Here’s why:
God is not a God of baggage.
In order to move forward with the good & prosperous plans He has promised,
we must let go of the things that give us false security,
and that ‘one thing’ we think we would die without.

[That ‘one thing’ is probably what just immediately came to your mind and what you’re now trying to ignore. I know, I’m a pro at it.]

We must stand with open hands before the Lord in order to embrace whatever it is that He is ready to give us.
This is the part that scares me.
What if I don’t like what God has to give me?
What if I miss what I gave up originally?
What if there’s a void left behind?
What if…What if…What if…

I think the answer to all of these questions is that we must rest in knowing that God will not ask us to surrender anything when He does not have something better to give us in return.
Newness is intimidating.
Letting go is painful, sometimes even physically so.
Take heart in knowing that He will fill the void,
He is ready to do something new,
But first we must surrender the old.

Isaiah 43:18-19
Remember not the former things, nor consider the things of old.Β 
Behold, I am doing a new thing; now it springs forth,
do you not perceive it?
I will make a way in the wilderness & rivers in the desert.
69d027a59ae8fd24637ae627f4b8bf75

2 thoughts on “Let Go

  1. I LOVE this post. I I’ve gone through a lot this year and this post perfectly sums up what I’ve learned through all of it. I found this post by googling Isaiah 43:18-19, and it was one of the first things that came up. Even though you wrote it 3 years ago it’s still making a difference! Thank you for these beautiful words!

  2. Thank you for this post, in a personal battle between the fear of letting go and the misery of holding on …… + love and light.

Leave a Reply

